post-debate thoughts

18.October.08

on by drive back from my interview in illadel yesterday, I listened to the 3rd and final presidential debate on my iPod.  it has gotten so bad with McCain that I actually pity the man. And props to Obama for keeping his cool. I mean, he has to, really.  Or else he will be seen as the angry black man. But McCain was, I guess one could say, more “aggressive” last night than in other debates. This does not mean that he made any sense. Or made any strong arguments are clearly answered any of the moderator’s questions. Hey, that’s politics, right? No. It shouldn’t be. I was VERY happy that the candidates finally spoke about women’s issues. It only took, oh, months of campaigning for the two to talk about Roe v. Wade in a public forum (I could easily be wrong by this statement…so correct me if I am).  I mean, I almost died when Biden mentioned VAWA twice during the vice-presidential debate. His office did draft the bill…but I don’t think Palin even knows what VAWA is. McCain’s brushing off of the “health of the mother” was quite disturbing. Planned Parenthood’s Cecile Richards seemed to think the same:

I don’t know if I have written this on my blog before, but I can not understand why anyone, other than white heterosexual males, would EVER vote for John McCain. I can’t. Why are people lying to themselves?

I found this gem on Racialicious:

The latest newsletter by an Inland Republican women’s group depicts Democratic presidential candidate Barack Obama surrounded by a watermelon, ribs and a bucket of fried chicken, prompting outrage in political circles.

The October newsletter by the Chaffey Community Republican Women, Federated says if Obama is elected his image will appear on food stamps — instead of dollar bills like other presidents. The statement is followed by an illustration of “Obama Bucks” — a phony $10 bill featuring Obama’s face on a donkey’s body, labeled “United States Food Stamps.”

it is said to say that i’m not surprised. but its just more ammo against McCain, and can work in favor of Obama.

Oh, yeah. and the REAL facts about our friend Joe the Plumber:

Joe the Plumber’s story sprang a few leaks Thursday. Turns out that the man who was held up by John McCain as the typical, hard-working American taxpayer isn’t really a licensed plumber. And court documents show he owes nearly $1,200 in back taxes.

“Joe,” whose name is Samuel J. Wurzelbacher, was cited repeatedly in Wednesday night’s final presidential debate by McCain for questioning Barack Obama‘s tax policy.

Wurzelbacher instantly became a media celebrity, fielding calls during the debate and facing reporters outside his home near Toledo on Thursday morning for an impromptu nationally televised news conference.

The burly, bald man acknowledged he doesn’t have a plumber’s license, but said he didn’t need one because he works for someone else at a company that does residential work.

And some more videos from Salon.com’s Video Dog:

a review of Oliver Stone’s new film, W

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Tracy-Clark Flory responds to an abortion law that intimidates women rather than educating them

Vodpod videos no longer available.

P.S. a follow-up on the project runway finale rant: Jezebel has a nice rundown of the finalists’ collections.

Leave a Reply

