hump day

9.June.10

its sad that things like this don’t surprise us anymore:

Last night a 14-year-old boy named Sergio Adrian Hernandez Huereca on the Mexican side of the El Paso-Juarez border was shot and killed by a Border Patrol officer, who was on the U.S. side. Reports of the actual exchange vary; the FBI has called the incident an “assault” on the Border Patrol officer, while others have focused on the death of the unarmed boy….

“It is clear to us that Border Patrol agents do not use restraint,” said Fernando Garcia, the executive director of the El Paso immigrant rights group Border Network for Human Rights. “We’re talking about a kid here.”

“We see a lot of rookie agents, because we are massively enforcing the border,” Garcia added. “There are now 20,000 Border Patrol agents, and they are not being trained well to respect the lives of people.”

I don’t really know what else to say about this, except that increasing the amount of people we have securing the border without properly training them is not the answer to America’s immigration “problems”.

and if you haven’t heard already, Slim Thug * has made some enlightening comments on Black women recently. Though his comments are ignorant, I think that they bring up a conversation that should be had about the relationship between Black men and Black women, or, morover, what Black men expect and why that is. I also agree with Bvic , in saying:

In the final analysis though, I don’t know who I’m more disappointed with, Slim Thug or Vibe? Give a man a platform and he will run wild. My question is why was he given a platform in the first place

*his Wikipedia page needs a serious makeover.

Guess what Friday is!??!?

Thats right, folks. WORLD CUP 2010 begins!! I know. so exciting. Although Germany doesn’t play until Sunday at 2:30 pm EST.  I still have to pay attention to the other teams b/c of the pool i’m in at work. I picked Portugal, which is a pretty good team, so I’m happy about that. Not happy that I didn’t pick Germany, but oh well. Apparently a Portugal player got injured recently, according to one of my co-workers. I’m really pushing Germany to win, despite Ballack’s injury.

That’s all for now. I may update later today. Or I may not.

Leave a Reply

